Bakin’ Eggs?!

I promised to share yummy new recipes and cute DIY projects in this blog.

Well, this is not a recipe or a craft (hmm, I’m off to a bad start…lying already) but I just HAD to try it. I read something this morning that said the best way to hard boil eggs is actually to leave out the boiling altogether. Now, anyone who knows me knows that I tend to be a bit of a skeptic without seeing things myself. Thus, today’s experiment!

For some reason I can NEVER remember how to properly hard boil eggs…how long do you boil it for? when do you take it off the heat? how long is “long enough” to sit in the hot water to cook? to ice bath or not to ice bath?…I know it’s really simple, but I just can’t retain it. I am pleased to say this morning’s pseudo science lab was a great success and I can rest my weary egg-bewildered brain and leave the pot of water out of this whole ordeal from now on.

Simply preheat your oven to 325 and place your desired amount of eggs in a muffin pan so they don’t roll around. Bake your eggs in the oven for 25-30 minutes. I left mine in for the full 30 minutes because I’ve had bad experiences with under-cooking my hard boiled eggs and having to throw them away because they have the consistency of yogurt (I wasn’t kidding about never remembering how to do it).

After the 30 minutes, remove the pan from the oven and place the eggs in an ice water bath for a couple minutes (this helps prevent that gross swamp-water green colored yolk from developing). Then came the ultimate test for me: Am I going to be able to peel off this shell without wanting to peel out my eyeballs? Let’s face it, there are few things more annoying than having to pick off tiny pieces of shell at a time, especially when it sticks to the egg white and leaves you with a tiny fraction of your original egg by the end of it…ahhhh! Sorry, I digress. Luckily, the shell came off basically in one piece and my eggs were cooked perfectly! Great success.

2 thoughts on “Bakin’ Eggs?!

  1. Pingback: Avocado Egg Salad « Pretty Things and Apron Strings

  2. oh my gosh so excited this worked! i am obsessed with hard boiled eggs and i just pinned this on pinterest yesterday i think hahah! so doing this!! i also found a simple simple way to make bacon i will text you!!

Leave a Reply - let me know what you think!

