Easy Peanut Chicken Stir Fry

Well, I just devoted far too much of my day to the miserable job search process with which I have become all too familiar. Five job websites, 2.5 hours, and 1 measly application later, I am still frustratingly unemployed with no promising prospects and willing to do nearly anything for a steady paycheck (okay, not anything – that was a huge exaggeration).

Anyways, my seemingly perpetual state of unemployment leaves me plenty of free time to cook and post about it so it’s not all bad!

Last night’s dinner was both delicious and super easy, which should appeal to all the lucky ones out there who have jobs and busy schedules that make spending a lot of time in the kitchen both unappealing and impossible. Technically I could afford to spend my entire day whipping up a labor-intensive gourmet meal, but I would clearly much rather bang my head against my laptop as I search for a job that justifies my 20 years of education (such a creature does not exist down here, by the way).

Anywho, this delicious Chinese/Thai-inspired stir fry that I adapted from the Kraft website can be prepared from start to finish in under 20 minutes! Hooray!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 lb angel hair pasta
  • 2 cups broccoli florets (you can also add or substitute snow peas)
  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts (cut into small chunks)
  • 1/2 cup Kraft Lite Asian Toasted Sesame Dressing
  • 2 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper (optional)
  • 1/3 cup chopped unsalted dry roasted peanuts

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preparation: cut broccoli into small florets, slice chicken into thin strips or chunks, chop up peanuts (Tip: I put mine in a Ziploc bag and used a meat tenderizer to chop them up…less messy than using a knife).
  2. Bring water to boil in a large saucepan. Add angel hair pasta and cook for 3 minutes. Add the broccoli to the boiling water and cook together for an additional 3 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, heat large skillet on medium-high heat. Add olive oil or cooking spray to skillet and add chicken, cooking 6-8 minutes or until cooked through, stirring occasionally.
  4. After chicken is cooked, stir in dressing, soy sauce, and seasonings and cook for 1 minute, stirring occasionally.
  5. Drain pasta/broccoli and place in large bowl. Add chicken/sauce and chopped peanuts and mix.
  6. Enjoy!

Oh, PS. I would be remiss in neglecting to thank my Sous Chef / Husband for his contributions to this meal (See? I really did give you a shout out)…my chicken would not be perfectly cubed or my sauce carefully stirred without you.

One thought on “Easy Peanut Chicken Stir Fry

Leave a Reply - let me know what you think!

