Avocado Egg Salad

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I have always had a closeted love for egg salad. I say “closeted” because the fear of being The Smelly Kid prevented me from ever bringing it in my school lunches or even eating it in the presence of non-family members. Call me extreme, but being short with curly red hair, and then being smart on top of it made me a target for teasing for years. Now, I embrace all of those things wholeheartedly and along with it, my public appreciation for egg salad.

In the last few years, avocados have become one of my favorite things. Show me a menu item with avocado in it and I will probably order it. Not only is it delicious but avocado is a “super food,” loaded with over 20 essential nutrients and healthy fats. When I saw a post a while back on Pinterest combining the two, it was a match made in epicurean heaven. It is delicious in a whole wheat wrap or a low-calorie pita pocket, shown in my photo below.

Ingredients:

  • 6 – 7 hard boiled eggs; you can choose to use all the yolks or use just egg whites for a couple of them
  • 1 large avocado, mashed
  • 1 Tbsp light mayonnaise (optional – healthier without but I think it tastes a little better with it)
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Hard boil eggs (see my post from Aug 22 for an easy way to hard boil eggs in the oven!) and chop them up.
  2. Mash avocado and stir together eggs, avocado, mayo and salt. Serve on any wrap or bread of your choosing!

One thought on “Avocado Egg Salad

  1. I love it made like this! I use greek yogurt instead of mayo (gives it a little zing) and some pickle relish and add spinach!

    Great posts!

Leave a Reply - let me know what you think!

