Crockpot Peach Applesauce

I have been struck lately by a nagging feeling of nostalgia for the Northeast, both for the fall season itself and for all the things I have come to associate it with…college, fairs (and, of course, fair food), orchards, birthday celebrations, family, holidays…the list goes on. My sister unknowingly hit a wistful nerve last week when she shared with me that she had just gone apple picking and made homemade applesauce. After lots of research, I was very disappointed to learn that apple picking in Georgia was not logistically in the cards for me, so I resigned myself to purchase my supplies from the grocery store. Hear you me, I will make this with fresh apples next year when we are back up north!

I know you don’t need to use a crockpot to make applesauce, but I strongly recommend this method if not just for the amazing smell will fill your kitchen all day. This recipe requires NO ADDED SUGAR like many other recipes do but you would never know it from the amazing taste! In my opinion, adding peaches really enhances the flavor of a more traditional applesauce. Also, the peaches don’t break down quite as easily as the apples do after cooking, so it gives the applesauce some texture with slightly larger peach chunks.

Ingredients:

  • 6 large apples, peeled and quartered (any combination you’d like; I used 2 Gala, 2 Honey Crisp, 2 Granny Smith)
  • 2 large peaches, peeled and quartered
  • 2 strips of lemon peel and juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 Tbsp agave nectar
  • 1/2 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup water

Directions:

  1. Peel and slice apples and peaches and add them to the Crock Pot. Pour in water, agave nectar, and cinnamon.
  2. Cook on low for 6 hours. The fruit will soften a lot by the end and you should only have to stir it to get the consistency seen below – no mashing required!

Leave a Reply - let me know what you think!

