Outstanding Baked Fish and Shrimp

Well, it has been 3 months now since I moved to Georgia and I still cannot find a job. Certainly not for lack of trying, I scour the job listings every few days with no luck (unless I want to be a physical laborer or truck driver). And so, I still have oodles of time (but not as many oodles of dollars) to devote to finding and experimenting with new recipes and sharing them in this blog.

This one I must give credit to my dad for discovering and sharing with me. He insisted it was fantastic and encouraged me to try it and, oh my, am I glad I finally did. It tastes like something you would order at a restaurant that is loaded with calories, but when you look at the simple ingredients, it isn’t unhealthy!…always a pleasant surprise with things that taste so sinfully good. Not only was this dish amazingly easy and tasty (I am a sucker for anything with shrimp in it), but it has brought me one step closer in my seemingly endless quest to empty out my freezer: win, win.

The original recipe seemed like it would yield a crazy amount of food for two people, so I scaled it down and adapted it a bit. This is a great, quick dish to whip up if you want to impress guests or just want to keep it all to yourself!

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 Tbsp butter
  • 1 Tbsp flour (I used closer to 1.5)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used fat-free)
  • 1/2 lb medium shrimp, peeled and deveined (and thawed if frozen)
  • ~1 lb white fish fillets (I used 4 tilapia fillets but any firm and mild white fish will do)
  • 1/8 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325.
  2. In a small saucepan, melt butter over medium-low heat. Whisk in flour and salt to make a paste. Gradually whisk in milk. Stirring constantly, cook until sauce thickens (it takes a little while so be patient and keep stirring!). The original recipe described the ideal thickness as being able to coat the back of a spoon, which is a nice reference point.
  3. Coat a glass or metal baking pan with cooking spray (select a pan large enough to accommodate all the fillets in one layer).  Arrange fish in pan and cover with shrimp. Pour white sauce over shrimp and sprinkle grated cheese across the top. Bake uncovered for 20 to 25 minutes (I kept mine in for the full 25 minutes, until the cheese on top starts to turn slightly golden in spots).

Pictures can’t do this dish justice but trust me when I say it is outstanding!

One thought on “Outstanding Baked Fish and Shrimp

Leave a Reply - let me know what you think!

