Crockpot Turkey Bean Chili

Well, the temperature is still in the 80’s down here and I’m probably going to lounge at the pool this afternoon, but I’m not letting that keep me from transitioning into hearty fall meals. I’ve about had it with the miserable job market down here so I’ve turned to cooking and researching new recipes to keep insanity from setting in. I hope for both my and my husband’s sake that I can find a job soon because I’m bound to crack from boredom and frustration. Can someone tell me why I got my Master’s degree again?

I digress. Back to today’s recipe. This delicious chili was introduced to me on Saturday, February 26, 2011 by my best friend, Heather (I know this because I use her original email with the recipe as a reference whenever I make it). We were assigned as roommates our freshman year of college 7 years ago and the rest is history, but this was a big year for us as best friends.  This year we were maids of honor in each other’s weddings and we both moved away (although I went much much farther). I think of her whenever I make this recipe and all my current fluctuating emotions certainly make me nostalgic for home and college and her.

This recipe calls for cooking the chili in a Crockpot but you can also follow step #1 and then place the ingredients in a large pot on the stove, bring to a boil, and then simmer on low for maybe an hour or so?

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2-1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1-1.5 lb ground turkey
  • 1/2 Tbsp chili powder (or up to 2 Tbsp if you like it spicy)
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (or 1 tsp for spicier chili)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 can tomato soup
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can white cannelini beans
  • 1 can corn
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. On medium heat in a large skillet, cook onions in olive oil until softened (about 5 min – don’t let it burn!). Add garlic and green pepper and cook an additional minute or two. Add ground turkey and cook until no longer pink. Drain liquid.
  2. Pour corn and beans into strainer and rinse. Combine all ingredients in Crockpot. Cook 8 hours on low or 4 hours on high. [NOTE: If I am home while this is cooking, I usually add in the corn and beans about halfway through the cook time, but if you are cooking while you are out, you can combine all ingredients at once and leave it]

Leave a Reply - let me know what you think!

