The Best Pumpkin Spice Cookies You Will Ever Eat

HANDS DOWN, these are the best cookies I have ever eaten. Soft, light, warm, spicy, pumpkin-y…in a word: Amazing.

Oh how thankful I am that my sister raved about this cookie recipe enough to make me want to make them myself. The only thing I could think to text to her after the first batch had come out of the oven was “oh my gosh, these cookies…,” to which she replied immediately by calling me and gushing “I told you!”

Now, do not mistake this as a Sweet Tooth’s fair-weather promotion of the cookie-of-the-hour…both my sister and I, by nature, are not “cookie people”. Nine times out of 10 I’ll take a bowl of potato chips over dessert. However, I can tell you I put down 4 of these cookies in 10 minutes and had to restrain myself from polishing off the first tray and just telling my husband it only made 2 dozen cookies instead of 3 like the recipe claimed.

If any of these describe you, you need to make these cookies: A) you love cookies, B) you love fall, C) you love pumpkin anything, D) you want to impress someone, E) you want to turn a boyfriend into a husband immediately, F) you want to reward yourself, G) you didn’t actually do anything special to deserve a reward but just want to enjoy the most delicious cookies on Earth. You may think I’m exaggerating but I’m really not.

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup of butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup pure pumpkin (canned)
  • ¼ cup of molasses
  • 1 egg egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 ⅓ cups flour
  • 2 tsps baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 ½ tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • ½ tsp salt

Directions (makes 3 dozen):

  1. In a mixing bowl (either with a stand or hand mixer), beat butter and sugars until creamy and smooth. Since brown sugar tends to clump, you may need to smush the chunks with a rubber spatula or spoon. Add the pumpkin, molasses, egg, and vanilla extract and mix until well combined.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, spices, and salt. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and beat until combined. Refrigerate the cookie dough for at least 1 hour (you can even make it up to a few days in advance).
  3. When you can’t stand the anticipation anymore, preheat oven to 350. To prepare your baking sheet, either line it with parchment paper or spray it with a thin layer of cooking spray (I opted for the spray since I had it on hand). Roll tablespoon-sized balls of dough in your palms and place on prepared baking sheet, pressing them flat slightly, and space them about 2 inches apart (for me that was 4 rows of 3 per tray). Bake for 10–12 minutes (I did it for 10), or until cookies look cracked and set at the edges. The cookies will still be soft. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes after removing them from the oven, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
  4. Indulge and enjoy!

One thought on “The Best Pumpkin Spice Cookies You Will Ever Eat

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Sage Soup « Pretty Things and Apron Strings

Leave a Reply - let me know what you think!

