Light Chicken Marsala

This past long weekend I was lucky enough to spend it with 5 of my best friends from college who flew down to Georgia to visit me.  There were so many fun moments during the weekend that it is hard to choose a highlight but I’m betting that we could all agree the drive-through animal safari was one of the most hilarious experiences we’ve ever shared. The climax was probably being projectile sneezed on by a llama…yes, that really happened – I have the booger/food chunks to prove it on the shirt I wore that day.

In any case, words can’t express how grateful I am for their visit and how happy it made me to have home come to me when I can’t go home. It was the least I could do to prepare some home cooked meals for them coming all the way down here. After all, what else have I been doing with my time down here? I’m going to take a moment to brag here and say that the Chicken Marsala I cooked on Sunday was pretty outstanding. Granted, I had to quadruple the recipe to cook for 6 girls and 1 wonderful husband on Veteran’s Day (who undoubtedly wins the award for “Most Patience” and “Highest Girl Talk Tolerance” this weekend) so the amounts and cook times I used were different from what is posted here, but this recipe is a total winner. You could substitute turkey or veal cutlets for the chicken if you want to mix it up and you could also make it gluten-free by using gluten-free flour.

Great by itself or over garlic mashed potatoes, rice, or pasta…this recipe is MUCH LIGHTER than your typical Chicken Marsala, which is usually cooked in a truly disgusting amount of butter. This one, which I adapted from Women’s Health Magazine, uses no butter at all and substitutes some healthier versions of the other ingredients but you would never know! It is seriously amazing!

Ingredients:

  • 1-1.5 lbs chicken cutlets (approx. 4 – 6 depending on how thin they are); OR turkey OR veal if you prefer
  • 6 Tbsp flour [Option #1: 3 Tbsp whole wheat flour, 3 Tbsp white flour, Option #2: 6 Tbsp white flour, Option #3: 6 Tbsp gluten-free flour]
  • 1/4 tsp white pepper
  • 3 cups sliced mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2/3 cup Marsala wine
  • 2/3 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley (OR 2 tsp dried parsley)
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme
  • Olive oil

Directions:

  1. In a shallow bowl, combine flours and white pepper. Dredge chicken and set aside on plate.
  2. Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium-high. Add chicken and saute on each side until lightly browned and cooked through. Remove cutlets to a plate and cover with foil to keep warm.
  3. Add mushrooms, onions, and garlic to pain. Cook and stir for about 5 minutes or until onions become soft and mushrooms start to shrink and turn brown.
  4. Add Marsala wine to skillet and reduce to a glaze, scraping any loose brown bits from bottom of pan.
  5. Reduce heat and  add chicken broth, parsley, and thyme. Stir and cook until broth reduces by about half. [NOTE: If you plan to use extra sauce over pasta, rice, or potatoes, you don’t have to reduce it this much…just add a little flour or cornstarch to thicken the sauce and then stir and cook a few minutes].
  6. Return chicken to skillet and simmer in mixture for 5 minutes. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply - let me know what you think!

