Healthy & Delicious Breakfast Smoothie

For the past 2 weeks or so I have revamped my daily breakfast routine. I created a delicious smoothie that kick starts my day in a healthy way loaded with good vitamins, energy, and protein without any unnecessary added sugars. Usually I get hungry shortly after breakfast even when I am eating eggs but since starting this new smoothie routine, I stay full for hours…it’s pretty incredible.

I had been hearing a lot of hype recently about the health benefits of Flax Seed so I did some research and decided to try it out. A 2.5lb bag cost me less than $10 at Sam’s Club and it goes a long way because you only use 1 or 2 tablespoons at a time. The health benefits of introducing ground flax seed into your diet include improving your cardiovascular health and decreasing the risk of heart disease, antioxidant and anti-inflammatory benefits, prevention of certain cancers, improving digestive health and regularity, and decreasing risk of insulin resistance and diabetes.

Flaxseed contains a combination of 3 unique nutrients that provide the benefits described above:

  1. High Omega-3 fatty acid content: improve heart health; in fact, “Among all 129 World’s Healthiest Foods, flax seeds comes out number one as a source of omega-3s!”
  2. Lignans: plant fibers that provide antioxidant and plant estrogen properties; again, “Among all foods commonly eaten by humans, researchers rank flax seeds as the number one source of lignans.”
  3. Fiber (or “mucilage”): contains both the soluble and insoluble types, which support digestion and improving nutrient absorption.

The other great part of finding ways to add flax seed into your diet is that you can’t really taste it, particularly when you add it to baked goods or smoothies, like I have been doing!

This is my smoothie recipe, which includes flax seed as well as several other highly nutritious ingredients. It tastes great, is loaded with nutrients, and keeps you full with its protein and fiber content. You can use any fruit that you like in this smoothie, including frozen fruit – just make sure the package you buy doesn’t add sugar to the fruit (check the ingredients list)!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/3 cup plain Greek yogurt (I don’t really measure…just 3-4 large heaping tablespoons worth)
  • 2 Tbsp ground flax seed
  • About 1 cup of sliced fruit of your choice (I use 1/2 of a banana and 1/2 cup sliced strawberries)
  • A few clumps frozen spinach (or fresh if you prefer)
  • 4-5 ice cubes

Throw all your ingredients into a blender, pop in a straw, and enjoy! It’s really delicious and uses no added sugars like many smoothies do. Also, do not fear the addition of spinach into the smoothie – it amps up the healthiness of your smoothie and you can’t even taste it!

One thought on “Healthy & Delicious Breakfast Smoothie

  1. Thanks Michelle,

    You’ve motivated me to use my ground flax seed more often by telling us how good it is for us! The smoothie looks great. I’ll try it and let you know. Anything that will keep me from getting hungry an hour later…

Leave a Reply - let me know what you think!

