Roasted Red Pepper and Mozzarella Chicken

Well, I said I was coming back to the blog to stay and now here we are a month and a half from my last post…crap. In my defense, travelling and job searching and coordinating cross country moves are fairly consuming. But I’m back in the kitchen and I am proud to say this delicious recipe I am sharing was created by yours truly! As I caught a whiff and slid the tray into my oven, I told my husband “I don’t want to toot my own horn prematurely, but I think this is going to be amazing”…luckily my culinary arrogance did not get thrown back in my face and it was, indeed, delicious…definitely one of the best things I’ve made in recent memory. And so, I am pleased to share it with you! I am so excited about this too because a year ago I didn’t think I’d see the day where I could create something edible without a recipe.

As our big Georgia to Massachusetts move gets closer and closer, I have become aware that my bargain and bulk food shopping may have been excessive. And so, in my attempt to try to creatively use up as much of our remaining perishable food as possible, this recipe was created. The ingredients list is very short and the process is pretty simple too…always an added bonus!

Besides marinating time (4-6 hours ideally), the cooking time for this recipe was probably only 25-30 minutes.

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts, pounded thin (not super thin, just thinner to reduce cooking time)
  • ~1 cup balsamic vinaigrette (not balsamic vinegar – I used the dressing)
  • 1 jar roasted red peppers
  • ~1 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese

Directions 

  1. With a kitchen mallet, pound chicken breasts so that they are fairly equal in thickness. They don’t have to be as thin as cutlets but making them thinner will reduce cooking time.
  2. Place chicken in a ziploc bag with the balsamic vinaigrette and let it marinate in the fridge, turning once halfway through if you can. At least 4 to 6 hours is preferred but you will be cooking the chicken in the dressing as well so if you don’t have that much time, that’s okay.
  3. After chicken has marinated, heat a large pan to medium heat and arrange chicken breasts in pan, pouring the marinade in the pan and allowing it to evenly distribute. Flipping over halfway, allow the chicken to cook through. Test for doneness by making a thin slice through the thickest part and checking that it is no longer pink in the middle.
  4. While chicken is cooking,  preheat your oven broiler. Remove as many peppers from the jar as you think it will take to cover the chicken breasts and pat them dry, removing excess oil and flattening them out. [Don’t be stingy with the peppers (I used nearly a whole jar) – you can double layer them if you like. They really make this dish!]
  5. Once chicken is cooked through, arrange breasts on a greased oven-safe pan and pour remaining balsamic liquid on top. Cover each chicken breast with a thick layer of red peppers. Sprinkle a thick layer of mozzarrella cheese on top of that.
  6. Place tray in oven broiler on the top rack for a few minutes until the cheese melts and turns golden brown. Keep an eye on it as it goes fairly quickly and timing depends on your broiler. [Most ovens do, but if you don’t have a broiler in your oven, just heat to about 425/450 and heat until cheese is melted]. Enjoy!

Roasted Red Pepper & Mozzarella Chicken

Readers: If you have tried any of my recipes, please comment on the recipe and let me know what you thought or if you made any changes! I’m always open to suggestions and I’d love to hear feedback!

 

Leave a Reply - let me know what you think!

